Gretchen S. Donehower

(formerly Gretchen Stockmayer)

Ph.D., Demography, UC Berkeley, 2004
M.A., Statistics, UC Berkeley, 2003
B.A., Economics & Math, Yale University, 1993

Academic Specialist & Researcher
Center for the Economics and Demography of Aging
Department of Demography
University of California at Berkeley
2232 Piedmont Avenue #2120
Berkeley, CA 94720-2120


Throughout my professional and academic career, I have been interested in quantitative research methods and have contributed to research in various areas such as the interactions of population and economics, investment analysis, population forecasting, primate ecology, residential segregation, and education. The links below will take you to the main projects that I work on and, farther down, to my Curriculum Vitae or a one-page resume.

I am currently working for the Center for the Economics and Demography of Aging (CEDA) as an Academic Specialist. I work on CEDA projects, but one of the main purposes of my job is to keep track of the many simulation and forecasting tools developed by CEDA researchers and to make them more accessible to the public and other researchers.

One of the main projects that I work on is the National Transfer Accounts Project (NTA). The NTA project seeks to estimate the age dimension of economic activity -- how we produce, consume, share and save by age. I maintain the age accounts for the United States and help develop methodology, coordinate research activities, conduct trainings and oversee estimate quality for the global project. Over 40 countries are now actively involved in NTA.

I am also the Project Director of Counting Women's Work (CWW). CWW grew out of NTA's efforts to include gender as an analytical category, so that we could understand how the economic life cycle differs for men and women, and girls and boys. It extends NTA's methodology, however, by including National Time Transfer Accounts. These accounts measure the production, consumption, and transfer of time spent in unpaid care and housework that has traditionally been known as "women's work."

Resume (one page, focuses on work history)

CV (about five pages, focuses on academic and research history)


I work from home and live in Southern Oregon with one husband, two sons, one dog, and many deer, black bears, bobcats, turkeys, and acorn woodpeckers, just to name a few of the other locals. To make it worth your while to have visited this page, here's our dog Tessa being made very miserable by having to wear antlers to get her picture taken with Santa. While I consider this the height of animal cruelty (the folks we adopted her from did it, I swear!), it's still a pretty funny picture. I could put up some pictures of my sons here, too, but unlike the dog, someday they'll be able to embarrass themselves on the internet with no help from me. Why steal their thunder? Thanks for stopping by.

Last updated: March, 2016