Skip to text
research wachter home > service

Ken Wachter - Service

Ken has been serving on the Editorial Board of PNAS, the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, since 2010, with a previous terms from 2000 to 2006. In Social Sciences, the board also includes Mary Waters, Adrian Raftery, Dalton Conley, and Doug Massey. Ken is also a member of the Committee on Publications of the National Academy of Sciences.

Ken completed his service on the U.S. National Committee for IIASA in 2013. IIASA is the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis in Laxenburg, Austria. Between 2009 and 2012 he served on the Steering Committee for Section U (Statistics) of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Ken Wachter received the Distinguished Service Award of the Division of Social Sciences, UC Berkeley, on 20 May 2008. It was presented by Dean Jon Gjerde, with Vice Chancellor George Breslauer attending. About thirty students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the Department of Demography joined the celebration. To our great distress, Dean Gjerde died not long afterwards.

In July 2009 Ken completed eleven years as Chair of Demography. He was succeded by Mike Hout and then by Josh Goldstein, and briefly by Beth Berry and Jenna Johnson-Hanks. The current Chair is Mara Loveman.

Ken served for six years as Chair and nine years as Member of the National Research Council's Committee on Population (CPOP) up to October 2008. He was succeeded by Linda Waite. Gene Hammel was CPOP's first chair.

return to: Kenneth Wachter home page Demography home page